Trying out my new camera.

img_0014

Just trying out my new compact camera – a Canon IXUS 510 HS. It’s amazing what they can squeeze into such a tiny box these days.  I picked “fred” as its wi-fi name, so I’ve named the camera “Fred” too, and I must confess that poor Fred was seriously verbally abused yesterday as I familiarised myself with its multitude of options and settings. At one stage I thought I was going to have suffer the ultimate humiliation of having to download the manual, but I think Fred now understands who’s boss. Definitely a more than adequate replacement for my trusty old Fuji FinePix A345 (R.I.P) which died last summer.

I actually went out intending to buy a Canon Powershot G12 as I’d been really impressed with the results a friend obtains with his. When I tried it out in the shop, however, I realised that it wasn’t really small enough or light enough for my purposes.  I have a Canon EOS 300D (which a very kind former colleague gave me) and I use it a lot when I go to places and events with the primary intention of taking photographs, but it’s far too big and heavy to carry around all the time.  So what I wanted was a little camera I could always carry with me to snap any streaking dolly-birds, passing UFOs or whatever else I happen to come across. The G12, excellent though it is, just didn’t fit the bill, the tiny, ultra-light 510 HS should do just fine.

Leave a Reply

